Search
  • Chandler - Founder of FRS

Creamy Acres Night of Terror - 2020 Review


Haunted Attraction Reviewed: Creamy Acres Night of Terror

Website: www.nightofterror.com

Location of Attraction: Mullica Hill NJ

Date of Review: 10/24/2020

Total Number of Attractions Available: 4

Overall Haunted Attraction Rating: 9/10

Entertainment & Food Rating: 9/10

Atmosphere Rating: 9/10

Overall Costume & Makeup Rating: 9/10

Overall Cast & Crew Rating: 8.5/10

Overall Set Design & Special Effects Rating: 9/10

Overall Scare/Thrill Factor Rating: 8.5/10

Overall Feedback: Creamy Acres Night of Terror, one of New Jersey’s longest running haunted attractions, is back for their 25th year of providing FEAR! Our squad last paid a visit to these folks in 2018, so we were eager to return. Creamy Acres Night of Terror is located on Creamy Acres Farm in Mullica Hill New Jersey! Boasting FOUR attractions, patrons should expect to spend at least an hour when visiting Creamy Acres Night of Terror!


We arrived at Creamy Acres Night of Terror shortly after 7pm and this place was flooded with fellow haunt goers! New for 2020, Creamy Acres Night of Terror is utilizing timed ticketing to help control the crowds. Mask wearing, social distancing, and frequent hand sanitization are among some of the other Covid-19 safety protocols these folks were enforcing. Ticket prices for 2020 run $40 for general admission or $65 for VIP admission.


After passing through the health and security checkpoints, you’ll swing by the ticket booth, and then proceed into the midway area. Creamy Acres Night of Terror has ample space to host large crowds and lots for guests to do outside of the attractions. Make sure to swing into their large country farm store filled with Halloween and Christmas decorations along with Creamy Acres Night of Terror merch! A handful of food trucks were also onsite for those that arrived hungry. Numerous Creamy Acres Night of Terror photo-op booths liter the midway area, so have your camera readily available!


For 2020 Creamy Acres Night of Terror has guests pursue their FOUR attractions in a continuous format - The Ride of Terror, The Harvest, The Playground, and Dark Dreams. This makes for a longer initial wait time but then helps minimize your wait in between attractions. There’s always the option of upgrading to VIP/Fast Pass if you’d prefer to avoid the lines.


To begin our evening we headed for The Ride of Terror. Creamy Acres Night of Terror is well known for having one of the most action packed haunted hayrides that you’ll encounter on the east coast! The Ride of Terror & Creamy Acres Night of Terror was actually featured on the Travel Channel at one point! Be prepared for a solid 20-25 minute exhilarating journey on this Ride of Terror. Within seconds of entering the first scene guests are immersed into a whole new realm of fear! Keep your head on a swivel as this hayride is loaded with massive animatronics, elegant scenes, and intense special effects! You’ll encounter at least a dozen different animatronic creatures, many of which are primed and loaded with pyrotechnics! Something we love about The Ride of Terror is the continuous nature of the scenes and scares. As soon as you depart from one scene you roll right into the next, keeping your heart racing for the entire ride! One of the most unique scenes has to be the Ape House, featuring several gorilla’s roaming free from their enclosure. Kudos to the cast and crew throughout the hayride for being energized and delivering countless startles. These folks truly did a phenomenal job at entertaining the entire wagon. The Ride of Terror is hands down one of the most aesthetically pleasing, intense, and frightfully fun haunted hayrides that you’ll encounter!


As we exited the wagon we hopped right in line for The Harvest. The Harvest features a 10-12 minute experience through dark cornfields, murky swamps, and eerie corridors! The Harvest, much like The Ride of Terror, is loaded with animatronics and special effects that are sure to stun even the most experienced haunt goers! We were thoroughly impressed with the elegant set design and the attention to detail. Scare actors were littered throughout The Harvest, lurking in the darkness awaiting just the right moment to deliver a spine-tingling startle! Not only did these scare actors have impeccable timing, they were also extremely interactive and engaged with our squad making for a very immersive experience! Two of our favorite sections were surely the mine and cave scenes - just downright eerie! It’s safe to say we were pleased with our journey through The Harvest.


Next up was the newest attraction at Creamy Acres Night of Terror, The Playground! The Playground boasts a visually stunning, 8-10 minute, 3D experience! The initial scene starts you off on a disorienting note, leaving guests susceptible to startles from there on out. Within moments of entering The Playground we were immediately blown away by the elegance of the 3D paintings. These 3D paintings bounced off the walls, creating a new realm of magicinary, leaving us quite disoriented. Scare actors utilized the 3D nature of the attraction along with its props to cleverly hide from the patrons. At just the right moment these spooks would pounce, providing numerous hair-raising startles! The Playground was loaded with aesthetically pleasing set work from floor to ceiling, leaving our heads on a swivel to take it all in. We can’t forget to mention the high energy music swirling through the air making for an exhilarating atmosphere! The Playground definitely takes the cake for being one of the best 3D attractions we’ve ever encountered.


To round out our evening we headed for Dark Dreams! Dark Dreams may only be a brief 5 minute walkthrough but it sure packs a punch! From the moment you enter to the moment you exit, you best be on high alert, as spooks and surprises are lurking around each and every corner! Dark Dreams is definitely the most “dated” attraction at Creamy Acres Night of Terror but it still possesses an impressive amount of quality animatronics, horrifying special effects, and loads of pop scares! One of our favorite scenes has always been the horrifying Christmas scene, featuring Santa Clause and his demented elves! Be forewarned as Dark Dreams isn’t for the faint of heart!


As we exited the final attraction of the evening our squad congregated in the midway area. We took some time to snag group pictures at the various photo-op booths, devour some delicious snacks, and peruse the farm store! We also had the pleasure of chatting with Ron Ambruster, owner and operator of Creamy Acres Night of Terror! Ron is by far one of the nicest folks you’ll ever meet. He has a clear passion for haunting and is always a pleasure to converse with.


Across the board at Creamy Acres Night of Terror you’ll encounter top notch set design, intense special effects, deranged scare actors, massive animatronics, and innumerable frights! Our squad has always enjoyed our experiences at Creamy Acres Night of Terror but these folks truly blew us away in 2020, providing one of the top experiences all season! Despite all the craziness of the year 2020 and the Covid-19 pandemic, the Creamy Acres team persevered and still found a way to scare the socks off our squad! Job well done Creamy Acres Night of Terror. We’re already looking forward to visiting again next season!


Individual Attraction Ratings:


Attraction Name: The Ride of Terror

Overall Attraction Rating: 9/10

Cast & Crew Rating: 9/10

Set Design & Special Effects Rating: 9.5/10

Scare/Thrill Factor Rating: 8.5/10


Attraction Name: Harvest

Overall Attraction Rating: 8.5/10

Cast & Crew Rating: 8.5/10

Set Design & Special Effects Rating: 9/10

Scare/Thrill Factor Rating: 8.5/10


Attraction Name: The Playground

Overall Attraction Rating: 9/10

Cast & Crew Rating: 9/10

Set Design & Special Effects Rating: 9.5/10

Scare/Thrill Factor Rating: 8.5/10


Attraction Name: Dark Dreams

Overall Attraction Rating: 8/10

Cast & Crew Rating: 8/10

Set Design & Special Effects Rating: 8.5/10

Scare/Thrill Factor Rating: 8/10

15 views